The philosophy of Ayurveda is based on the presence of 5 elements, which are the building blocks of the entire universe (the macrocosm) and of our physical body (the microcosm).

Yatha Brahmade t-tha pinde

All that exists in the universe exists within the body

According to this ancient Vedic holistic healing method, each human being has a different balance of the following elements (Pancha Mahabhutas). These elements affect us in different aspects, Physically, mentally emotionally and energetically.

  • Ether / Space (akasa)
  • Air / Wind (vayu)
  • Fire (agni)
  • Water (jala)
  • Earth (pṛithivi)

Practice of Yoga helps in management of the vital energy or ‘prana’, the vital life force that gives life to all levels of being. Prana enables the body to move and the mind to think. It is the intelligence that coordinates our senses, and the perceptible manifestation of our higher selves. 

Prana, the subtle energy, runs in the body on the left and right side of the spine, as two rivers flowing, they cross and re-­cross each other over each body cavity. As they cross, they create a spark of energy or a whirling vortex which is called a ‘Chakra’. These are neuro spinal energy centres in the subtle body corresponding to centres in the spinal cord, nerve- plexus and organs in the gross body.

There is a Chakra at:

  • the perinium called Muladhara or Root chakra.
  • the adrenal glands- genitals in the pelvis called Swadhishthan or Sacral Chakra.
  • the solar plexus and adrenal gland pancreas in the abdomen called Manipura or Solar plexus Chakra. 
  • the heart,lungs, cardiac plexus and thymus gland in the chest called Anahata or Heart Chakra. 
  • the throat centre and thyroid gland called Vishuddhi or Throat Chakra. 
  • pituitary gland and the hypothalamus called the Ajna Chakra or Third eye
  • Associated with the pineal gland the ‘master gland’ since it produces the hormones that regulate other aspects of the endocrine system, including the thyroid, adrenals, ovaries, and reproductive gland, .and is called Sahasrara Chakra or Crown Chakra

Each of these chakras corresponds with basic elements. Therefore, one can access these elements and bring them in balance by focusing on these chakrasl.

  • Muladhara chakra or Root Chakra – it represents stability and support and survival. It indicates the Earth element. One can balance this by balancing the Earth element. gives the feeling of balance, we feel strong and grounded when there is prana flowing through this chakra. Hence it corresponds with the stabilizing Earth element.
  • Swadishthan or Sacral chakra – It controls our emotions and response to fear, joy and general sense of well being. It also balances water in the body. Ever noticed that when you’re afraid or stressed, your body bloats? It  indicates the Water element, representing fluidity, creativity and fertility.
  • Manipura or Solar plexus chakra – it represents power, wisdom, inner strength and courage of a person. When there are no blockages, prana flows freely through this chakra energizing our body like the sun energizes the earth. It corresponds to  Fire element
  • Anahata or heart chakra – It represents love, forgiveness, compassion to all. It indicates the Air element. This is the space for our compassion, kindness and our ability to give and receive love. This corresponds to Air element, giving us feeling of deep connection just like air connects us all.
  • Vishuddha or throat chakra – It represents faith in ourselves, trust in others, creativity. It indicates the Ether element. This represents our self expression, ability of communication. Person becomes better at listening without judgment. It corresponds to Space element.

Rest of the 2 chakras corresponds to what is beyond the five physical elements.

  • Ajna or Third eye chakra – It represents knowledge, intuition and light of wisdom. Indicating the element of Light. This chakra is the master instructor, responsible for giving instructions to the whole body. If this chakra is blocked, there could be multiple hormonal imbalances.
  • Sahasrara or Crown chakra – Crown chakra is the gateway to higher dimensions, as it allows  to tap into the infinite field of consciousness and feel divine unity with everything around you. It represents perfect balance, oneness with the universe. And the element is divine consciousness. One realises that The knower, the act of knowing and the known are one.

Leave a comment